Evolve or Repeat

“I’ll start next week.”

“I don’t have the time.”

“I’m too tired”

All things I have said before, and I am positive you have too.

We all have.

Procrastination is a huge issue that many of us can’t shake completely.

We say we want to do something, or we are required to do something,

but we continue to put it off until the last minute or never do it all.

We gotta do better.

In the beginning of my fitness journey I struggled with this much more than I do now.

A lot of people ask me how I got over it.

Truth is, I haven’t.

Not 100% anyway.

Back then I had to make a decision, and you will too.

I had to decide if being in the same position that I was in, a year later, would be suitable for me or not.

I had to decide if I would be happy being fat a year later, or if I would rather be even 2 pounds lighter.

I definitely decided that 2 pounds was better than nothing.

That’s how much I really hated my body, and how I knew that I had to at least try to change.

I knew it was going to be a hard and long process, especially since I didn’t have any help, but

I would have much rather at least tried and learned something new than continue to sit in self hate, self pity, low self esteem and low self confidence.

Cause who the hell wants to do that forever? 🥴

Sometimes by thinking about how long and how much work it’s gonna take to do something we fuck around and talk ourselves out of doing it altogether.

I did that for almost a year before I actually started.

Honestly, that can really go for anything though..

Homework, walking the dog, cooking, and exercising.

That is why I often tell people it is important to acknowledge your feelings in the beginning of your journey.

Figure out your purpose.

Set goals, and then decide what is more important between getting closer to your goals within a month or two or being in the exact same place in a month or two.

Do you still want to hate your body, breathe heavily after walking up stairs, etc in a month, or would you rather see one small change that gets you closer to where you’re trying to go?

I heard someone say once,

“ You are 24 contemplating if you want to take a 4 year course, because at the end of it you’ll be 28.

Either way it goes, you’ll be 28 in 4 years.

You can either be 28 with more knowledge, a certificate/degree, or 28 in the same place as you were at 24.”

That speaks volumes to me, and it helped me a bunch in the beginning.

I was not tryna be 28, fat and miserable. Lol

I probably would have gained 50+ more pounds within that time if I hadn’t decided to evolve.

You know, the world would be a very strange place if people and things didn’t evolve.

Everything would literally be the same.

How boring does that sound?

Evolving is necessary for things to continue to thrive and flourish.

That is no different for us as humans.

If you continue to do the same things everyday, and make no changes you will not grow.

You won’t make progress towards anything.

You won’t learn. You won’t become better.

So if you are currently in a state where you hate your body, or you lack energy, or you are unhealthy think about the things that you are doing on a consistent basis currently.

Those are the things that have you stuck in the place you are in now.

Clearly continuing to do those things is not gonna help, so you have to decide to change.

You have to decide that you want better, and you want to be better.

Not just in fitness, but in all aspects of your life.

EVOLVE into the person that you want to be.

I love to tell others this because most people don’t realize it at first.

A fitness journey doesn’t just change your body.

Your mind, heart, and everything else in between changes in this process too.

It makes you a better person overall.

But don’t think that it is going to happen overnight, because evolving takes much longer than that whether it be physically, mentally, emotionally or spiritually.

As you go about life, ask yourself:

“Evolve or repeat. What am i going to choose?”

2 thoughts on “Evolve or Repeat

Leave a comment